The Likelihood of Life in the Universe

August 26, 2010 § 2 Comments

In retrospect I feel my last written blog piece “The Universe Cares Not For Us was a bit bleak, so I thought we could look at The Drake Equation. It makes me feel good when Carl Sagan talks about it. Enjoy as Carl explains the likelihood of life in the Milky Way.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Likelihood of Life in the Universe

  • Tsuken says:

    I don’t think it was bleak. I dunno, maybe it’s just me, but I really don’t see anything wrong with the notion that there is no external saviour – or god-given purpose to our existence. The thing is, that absolutely does not mean our lives are purposeless or lack meaning; it simply means that we create our own purpose.

    Might be grist for a friday filosophy post; I haven’t done one of those in a while 😉

  • […] Climber’s recent posts: one where he wrote about the Universe not caring a whit for us; and a subsequent one wherein he described the “uncaring universe” post as being ‘a bit bleak’. I […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Likelihood of Life in the Universe at Atheist Climber.

meta

